Quick peek at what was happening in the NT Dec 2016

Posted on January 30, 2017

Issue 74 of Down The Track was jammed packed with ICPA and distance education school news.  Here are the highlights.

Alice springs branch DTT Dec 16 

Alice Springs Branch News

New President, Amber Driver seems to be working hard already and is supported by a great team.

Winner of the ICPA ASSOA Bursary was Hayley Nicolle, who will be attending St Phillip's Boarding School in 2017. 



 Alice Springs School of the Air

The last In-School for the year was held in early December and is focussed on swimming lessons. There were plenty of activities that the students participated whilst in town which included the "Townies vs Bushies" cricket match and the 80s Disco which was put on by the Student Leaders.

DD DTT Dec 16 
Douglas Daly School

Senior students of the Douglas Daly School went to the Australian Capital, Canberra, to learn about our government and visit many more fantastic places such as Questacon and the Royal Australian Mint.



Callistemon DTT Dec 16 Callistemon House

The Awards night was held at Knotts Crossing Resort with a pirate theme.  Four HSC graduates, Jessica Motlap, Shawn Spain, Jared Issac and Jake Frith were farewelled.  Music for the night was supplied by Callistemon band, The Lonely Children.



NTSDE DTT Dec 16 NT School of Distance Education

32 of the 36 graduating students for 2016 attended the graduation dinner at the Sky City Casino on the 25th November.

Joel Kennaway received the Caltex All Rounder Award, Max Lowe the ADF Lon Tan and Youth Leadership Award, Kezia Dilettoso the CDU Yr 12 Achievement Award, Trish Tipiloura the Top Academic Indigenous Achiever Award and Bonnie Hunt the Top Academic Achiever Award.


Katherine Branch News and Katherine School of the Air News

 Katherine Branch DTT Dec 16At the end of year Inshool the following awards were presented. Brodie Craig was presented with the Year 5/6 ICPA Landmark Bursary and Jack Bowman awarded the Year 7/8/9 ICPA Landmark Bursary.  Jack Bowman and Rachel Walmsley also received the Val Utley Incentive Award. Learn who your new committee is here.



St Phillips DTT Dec 16St Phillip's College

 St Phillip's was pleased to announce that 17 students received an ATAR of 90+ in 2016. Dean Sullivan, Captain of Boys Boarding and Vice-Captain of the School, has had a stellar year and was named Dux of the College in 2016.  Dean also placed 3rd in the NT and received an A+ Merit for Mathematical Studies.  



Well done to all those who have excelled at school during 2016 and well done to all those other children who gave their best.  Lets hope you will all enjoy learning new things in 2017.

To read more important things that were reported on in this Down the Track please click here.